Re-purposed Buffet is now a Kitchen Island

This was a very fun project! I was not too inspired by the original buffet. It was quite plain and very bulky looking. I could not think of any colour that would improve the situation so I decided to change it up completely. I thought it would make a great kitchen island and when I was done, I thought it would also be great as a work table in a craft room. Here is how it looked to begin with:

before

I removed the decorative piece across the back of the top, the two front doors and the two end doors and then filled all the holes. I used one of the door handles for one of the drawers which was missing. One the end doors became a shelf on the inside. I had to cut it a little shorter and then add blocks of wood on the inside for it to sit on – small pieces of molding did the trick.

I then painted the whole piece with two coats of Cottage Paint Black except for the feet. A little wet distressing on the edges brought out some of the original warm brown finish.

The Top:

Off to Home Depot again! They sell laminated pine shelving that was just perfect for the top. The two pieces were even the right width! I had one of the men cut one of the two pieces to the right depth so that I could cover the existing top and create an over-hang of about 9 inches – perfect to tuck a couple of stools under. It sure is handy that they will cut the wood for you there – I really don’t have the right tools to do that!

PineShelving_4

I glued and clamped the two halves together and then stained it with Early American Min Wax wood stain – a nice, rich dark brown. The next step was to position it on the top with the overhang and then secure it with several screws from the inside of the cabinet. A couple of black wrought iron brackets were screwed under the overhang to support it.

I sanded the top well with very fine sandpaper – 400 grit until the surface was satiny smooth.

cabinet2

Finishing:

I applied 2 coats of Cottage Paint Flat Urethane Varnish for a completely matte finish that is VERY durable. I sanded the top again with the 400 grit sandpaper since the first coat of any finish will raise the grain of the wood again.

Stools:

The originals were a little too tall for the piece so I cut the legs down and then painted them with 2 coats of Cottage Paint Black and then varnished them with 2 coats of the Urethane Varnish I used on the island. Add some pads to the bottom of each leg to protect your floor.

island5

Baskets:

I love the look of wicker baskets so I got several that would fit on the shelves and make for some very useful storage. In one of the shots, I’ve used a couple of wooden crates that I had painted years ago and use in my kitchen on open shelving. Love them still! I have glued a piece of felt to the bottom of each to protect the shelf from the constant moving in and out.

cabinet1island3island4

